Different Types Of Passports Available In India – Have A Look

AP2TG Staff

A passport is the key to getting into other countries. If you carefully notice other passports while standing in the queue, you’ll notice that different countries have different colored passports. However, the colors are restricted i.e. just 4 basic colors

In general, passports are only red, green, blue, or black, according to Hrant Boghossian, the vice president of marketing at the interactive passport database Passport Index. Today we will concentrate on the different color passports in India.

Issued under the Passports Act, 1967, the Indian government supplies more than one type of passport to its citizens. In India, there are three varieties of passport which can be issued to Indian nationals.

The Three Types Of Indian Passports:

The three types of passports available in India are:

  • The Regular Indian Passport (Ordinary Passport)
  • The Official Indian Passport
  • The Diplomatic Indian Passport

Differences Between The Three Indian Passports:

#1. The Regular Indian Passport:

Ordinary passport (black cover) is issued to ordinary citizens for ordinary travel, such as for vacation, study and business trips (36 or 60 pages). It is a “Type P” passport, where P stands for personal.

#2. The Official Indian Passport:

Official passport (white cover) is issued to individuals representing the Indian government on official business. This passport is typically issued to Govt. employees who are traveling on national duty, typically to represent the country. It is a “Type S” passport, S standing for service.

#3. The Diplomatic Indian Passport:

Diplomatic passport (maroon cover) is issued to Indian diplomats, top ranking government officials, and diplomatic couriers. It is a “Type D” passport with D standing for diplomatic. It is to be noted that carrying a Diplomatic passport does not bestow you with Diplomatic immunity, which is something that is bestowed separately.

Category Type Color Issued To
Regular Indian Passport Type-P (personal) Dark navy blue General public
Official Indian Passport Type-S (service) White Representatives of the country traveling on official business
Diplomatic Indian Passport Type-D (Diplomatic)

How To Apply For Different Types Of Passports:

The process for applying for all three passports is pretty similar. Passport Seva Kendras (PSK’s) are dedicated to serving the Indian public with passport-related services. Recent changes in the law have enhanced and simplified the process of applying for fresh passports and reissue of passports.

We would like to hear from you. IF you have any doubts regarding the types of passports feel free to express in the comment section below.