REVEALED: Here’s The Reason Why Rahul Dravid Was Not Part Of IPL 10 Opening Ceremony

AP2TG Staff

Finally, the wait is over the India’s most anticipated and celebrated cricket, the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 has started yesterday with quite some surprises.

It is the 10th anniversary of IPL this year and a grand opening was mandatory. As expected the opening ceremony of IPL got off to a fabulous begin with a short yet sizzling opening service in Hyderabad.

The highlight of the opening function was the felicitation of the Indian cricket team legends – The golden era of Indian teaming, comprising of Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag and VVS Laxman for their invaluable contributions to the Indian cricket.

Checkout BCCI officials felicitating the Fabolous 4 of Indian cricket:

But what raised the eyebrows was the absence of Rahul Dravid. Fans were disappointed not to see Dravid during the opening ceremony.

Here Is The Reason Why Rahul Dravid Missed The IPL Ceremony

According to leading sources, the wall of the cricket Dravid, who is the mentor of Delhi Daredevils team, was invited for felicitation during the IPL opening ceremony.

Also, the report states that according to an official statement released by BCCI, Dravid was invited, but he could not make it to Hyderabad on time because his flight from Delhi got delayed due to a storm. As a result, Dravid’s flight to Hyderabad got delayed and he missed out on the ceremony.

Earlier IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla had confirmed that BCCI would felicitate ‘fab five’ including Dravid.

“The decision was taken at the GC meeting today that five legends of Indian cricket — Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman and Virender Sehwag will be felicitated during the opening ceremony in Hyderabad on April 5,” Shukla had told reporters a few days back.

Also Watch: Virat Kohli’s EPIC Entrance in Yesterday’s Opening Ceremony Of IPL- 10

With seven more ‘opening’ ceremonies left, we expect BCCI to felicitate Dravid before the Royal Challengers Bangalore vs. Delhi Daredevils match on Saturday, April 08 or Delhi Daredevils vs. Kings XI Punjab on April 15.

IPL 2017 kicked off with defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore at their home venue. RCB while chasing mammoth 208 were bowled out for 172.