Dilruwan Perera’s ‘Brain Fade’ Moment Stirs Up New DRS Controversy In 1st Test INDvsSL

AP2TG Staff
  • In the first Test match between India and Sri Lanka at Eden Gardens, the hosts were halted at a meager first-innings score of 172, in reply to which the Lankans had scored 294 runs by the end of their innings, gaining a healthy lead of 122 runs. However, one particular incident attracted a lot of attention.

The Eden Garden’s Test has been startling right from the start. While Suranga Lakmal stunned the Indian fanatics by scalping three wickets giving no runs on the first day, the Lankan skipper Dinesh Chandimal flabbergasted all on the third day by escaping a penalty for ‘fake fielding.’

The latest addition to the eventful Test is Dilruwan Perera’s ‘brain fade’ moment just the Australian skipper Steve Smith had earlier this year, in deciding whether to take a DRS call or not. The incident took place during the 57th over of the Sri Lankan innings.

Mohammad Shami was the bowler and he trapped Dilruwan Perera in front of the wicket which resulted in an appeal from the Indian and the on-field umpire adjudged the Lankan LBW. Perera was happy to walk off without reviewing the decision, but after a few steps towards the pavilion, he turned back and straight away asked for the review.

Eventually, the third umpire overturned the on-field umpire’s decision as the impact was outside off-stump. The decision to review looked like a masterstroke as there was just one review left for the Lankans and eight players were already back in the hut.

However, what caught everyone’s eyes in the replays is that Perera did look towards dressing room while he was walking back and after a signal, he promptly took the review.

What Does The Rule Say?

ICC Decision Review System Clause 3.2 (c) says, “In particular, signals from the dressing room must not be given.” Though the actions of the visiting team weren’t planned and it was instinctive but neither of them is allowed when it comes to reviewing the decision of the umpire. There is a possibility that the hosts might take the matter to the match referee and it would be interesting to see the action taken on the Sri Lankan team.

Watch The Video Here:

However, the commentator on air Simon Doull was not at all impressed with the actions of the Sri Lankan batsman and felt he sought help from the dressing room. Also, the multiple replays showed that there were few hands waving at the batsman from the pavilion signaling him to take the review.

What do you say about Dilruwan Perera’s act? Share your views with us in the comments section below.

Comments

comments