BCCI Announces Team India’s 15-Member Squad For Champions Trophy 2017, Rohit, Shami Back In Squad

AP2TG Staff

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has given Team India the go-ahead to participate in the ICC Champions Trophy, beginning June 1 in England, putting an end to recent speculation of a possible pull out.

Hence, The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) named a 15-member squad for the upcoming tournament in England starting June 1.

BCCI Announces Team India Squad For Champions Trophy 2017:

Rohit Sharma made a comeback to the Indian ODI squad for the ICC Champions Trophy, more than five months after being sidelined through injury. Rohit had been drafted into the squad in place of opener KL Rahul, who is nursing a shoulder injury and will be out of action for another couple of months.

Virat Kohli’s team will also see the return of fast bowler Mohammed Shami, who is also making a comeback from injury and last played for the team in the World Cup in 2015.

Shikhar Dhawan, Yuvraj Singh, Umesh Yadav, Kedar Jadhav and Jasprit Bumrah have retained their places in the squad after their consistent performances in the ongoing Indian Premier League.

India Squad: Virat Kohli (C), MS Dhoni (Wk), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami.

Full Schedule of Champions Trophy 2017:

1 June – England v Bangladesh, The Oval

2 June – Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston

3 June – Sri Lanka v South Africa, The Oval

4 June – India v Pakistan, Edgbaston

5 June – Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval

6 June – England v New Zealand, Cardiff

7 June – Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston

8 June – India v Sri Lanka, The Oval

9 June – New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cardiff

10 June – England v Australia, Edgbaston

11 June – India v South Africa, The Oval

12 June – Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Cardiff

14 June – First semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff

15 June – Second semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston

18 June – Final, The Oval

19 June – Reserve day